As I’ve studied in American for around 3 months, I find there are many differences lies between Chinese and American education.

Education Word Cloud by Vectorportal
Education Word Cloud, a photo by Vectorportal on Flickr.

In China, schools are changing their idea of education from teacher centered to student centered. However, both teachers and students can hardly get used to this change. Although students are encouraged to ask questions and show their own opinions in class so that they can take teachers to the field where they want to learn, most of them are shy and afraid of come up with their own ideas for fear of being laughed. Teachers also cannot help talking nonstop and feeding students with knowledge. Besides, in educational area, I think China is a high context culture. Chinese teacher always praise students and they point out students shortage directly as well. Teacher always have a specific definition of right and wrong, which means students have to follow answers shown in book. China is more like a masculine society,which is especially obvious in high school. School will make a list according to students’ grades from high to low and show the top 20 on the wall to inspire students work hard. I really hate it!!

In America, students feel free to show their opinions in class and not that serious when having classes and talking with teacher. They can even leave before class over and not to mention teacher, which shocked me a lot. All right, I know this situation will only happen to big class.╮(╯▽╰)╭ Teachers also praise students a lot yet they show students’ shortage in an indirectly way, so students have to aftertaste what their teachers said and then got the point. I have to say sometimes it is really tired, and I prefer they tell me directly. Do you think so? Therefore, I think American is a high context culture.

As for online learning, I’m not used to it. I don’t like to read a lot in a second language. I prefer to listen it. Text information will lost a visual feeling. If you pick up a inpropore word, it may lead to an argument.

As far as I’m concerned, all these difference may result in characteristic. Americans are more open. These are my own view. If you find some other differences or your thought of education, please leave your comment.O(∩_∩)O